Metro Pool League

This award was named after a former deceased member of the league and was first given out in 1987. Walter and many
members of his family were players in both the Men’s and Ladies MPL in past years. The plaque awarded annually in his
memory was given to the team who had been in the league the longest and had yet to receive it. That team then voted a
deserving player who demonstrated sportsmanship and dedication to his team and the league. In 2017, the league decided
that, after 30 years, it would retire the award and hand it back to Walter’s family. Nick Barker accepted the award on
behalf of the Johnson family at the league banquet that year.

Year Team Player
2016 Doolys Burnside A Glenn Nickerson
2015 Doolys Sackville Leo Hartlen
2014 Dooly's Kempt Duke Dugas
2013 Lake Loon Grant Rudolph
2012 Doolittle's Lou Baumhour
2011 Dooly's Kempt A Rob Rogers
2010 Oasis Peter Warren
2009 Ship Victory Terry Leckie
2008 Big Leagues Doug Eldershaw
2007 Shannon 8-Ball Rick Barros
2006 Breakers Joe Walsh
2005 Spryfield Q B Richard Moore
2004 Sandtrap Don Gates, Sr.
2003 Dooly's Kempt Doug Peters
2002 Spryfield Q Bill Mercer
2001 Almon Dale Arsenault
2000 Bullseye Andy Thurber
1999 Centennial John Tobin
1998 Top Corner Jim Stubbs
1997 Fairview Steve Walsh
1996 North End Pub Bill Shott
1995 Somme Dan Fortune
1994 Bud's Pub Craig O'Leary
1993 My Son's Place Cliff MacDonald
1992 Load of Mischief Gary Foston
1991 Halifax Q Paul Noel
1990 Mic Mac Lodge Art Durant
1989 Resolutes Darren Bentley
1988 Centennial Reg Arsenault
1987 Scotia Legion Dennis Walsh